Damn Sure Blue & The K.O.A. Tapes


SKU: N/A Category:


Two CDs for a special low price!

Kate turned to the Man in Black for inspiration on her latest Large River Music release Damn Sure Blue. Two of the songs from this soulful collection stem directly from Johnny Cash’s prolific catalog—the folk classic “The Ballad of Ira Hayes” and his self- penned “Forty Shades of Green.” Produced by Will Kimbrough at Kimbrough Super Service with additional recording by Robert Lucas at Barefoot Jerry’s Cinderella Sound Studio in Nashville.

1. Damn Sure Blue
2. Change Should’ve Come By Now
3. Long Slow Train
4. This, And My Heart Beside
5. The Ballad Of Ira Hayes
6. When You Come Back Home
7. Sally Maxcy
8. The Great Atomic Power
9. Christ, It’s Mighty Cold Outside
10. Forty Shades Of Green
11. Peace, Precious Peace

The K.O.A. Tapes was recorded on Kate’s iPhone 5 and/ or using two microphones in her living room and at various impromptu locations across America. A select cast of stellar musicians including the legendary Spooner Oldham (B-3 Organ), Missy Raines (Upright Bass), Sally Van Meter (Dobro), Joey Miskulin (Accordion), Laura Boosinger (Banjo), Steve Smith (Mandolin), and John Kirk (Fiddle) add a flourish of subtle embellishments to make The K.O.A Tapes a hum-along listening pleasure.

1. Some Song
2. America
3. Greensboro
4. Lay Back The Darkness
5. I Am A Pilgrim
6. Intro Galway
7. From Galway To Graceland
8. Porcelain Blue
9. Intro Bobby McGee
10. Me And Bobby McGee
11. Hope’s Too Hard
12. Intro Pilot Me
13. Jesus, Savior, Pilot Me
14. Passing Through
15. The Locust Years
16. Strangeness Of The Day
17. Intro Seven Miles
18. Seven Miles Home
19. Intro Freebird
20. Freebird