The K.O.A. Tapes (Vol. 1)


SKU: N/A Category:


Listen, Lyrics, Reviews & Notes

Organic, sparse, and profoundly simple, The K.O.A. Tapes (Vol. 1) was recorded on Kate’s iPhone 5 and/or using two microphones in her living room and at various impromptu locations across America. A select cast of stellar musicians including Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inductee Spooner Oldham (B-3 Organ), Missy Raines (Upright Bass), Sally Van Meter (Dobro), Joey Miskulin (Accordion), Laura Boosinger (Banjo), Steve Smith (Mandolin), and John Kirk (Fiddle) add a flourish of subtle embellishments to make The K.O.A Tapes a hum-along listening pleasure. Kate enlisted award-winning acoustic producer/engineer Ben Surratt to mix the tunes and give them ample space for sonic breathing room. As a whole, these songs weave a tapestry that is both celebratory and reflective. “Greensboro” follows in the footsteps of Kate’s previous Civil Rights songs (“Crazy in Alabama” and “Freedom Train”) and is sure to find a home on Americana and Folk radio

1. Some Song
2. America
3. Greensboro
4. Lay Back The Darkness
5. I Am A Pilgrim
6. Intro Galway
7. From Galway To Graceland
8. Porcelain Blue
9. Intro Bobby McGee
10. Me And Bobby McGee
11. Hope’s Too Hard
12. Intro Pilot Me
13. Jesus, Savior, Pilot Me
14. Passing Through
15. The Locust Years
16. Strangeness Of The Day
17. Intro Seven Miles
18. Seven Miles Home
19. Intro Freebird
20. Freebird